The Salinas Valley Groundwater Basin includes nine subbasins, six of which fall partially or entirely within the jurisdiction of the SVBGSA within Monterey County:

The Seaside Basin is adjudicated and not subject to SGMA

In 2020, SVBGSA, in partnership with MCWD GSA and the County of Monterey GSA, completed the GSP for the 180/400-Foot Aquifer Subbasin. In 2022, SVBGSA completed GSPs for its remaining 5 subbasins: the Eastside Aquifer Subbasin, the Forebay Aquifer Subbasin (in partnership with ASGSA), the Upper Valley Aquifer Subbasin, the Langley Area Subbasin and the Monterey Subbasin (in partnership with MCWD GSA).

Interact with the map below to learn more about these subbasins.