Board of Directors

The Salinas Valley Basin Groundwater Sustainability Agency, formed through a joint powers authority agreement, is governed by an eleven-member Board. The Board meets monthly to implement the Sustainable Groundwater Management Act in the Salinas Valley Groundwater Basin; all meetings are open to the public. Each Director has one vote, and the Board requires a simple majority (six Directors) for routine business, a super majority (eight Directors) for approving the groundwater susatinability plan, budgets, and member termination, and a super majority plus (eight Directors, including three of the Agricultural Directors) for imposing fees and or pumping limits. 


Advisory Committee

Formed in 2017, the Advisory Committee purpose is to provide input and recommendations to the Board of Directors on a range of topics related to groundwater sustainability, including Agency policies and groundwater sustainability plan development. The goal is to provide opportunities for broad input to the Salinas Valley Basin Groundwater Sustainability Agency. The consensus-seeking Advisory Committee has a charter and is comprised of a broad range of interests within the Salinas Valley Groundwater Basin. The Committee considers applications for vacant member seats and potential seats for interests not otherwise represented in its membership and strongly encourages interested stakeholders to see representation of interests through existing members. The Board appoints Advisory Committee members. The Committee meets every month to develop recommendations to the Board on SGMA implementation in the Salinas Valley. All meetings are open to the public.

Advisory Committee Members:

AC Roster Bd appr  03-08-18 upd thr 4-2-18-page-001.jpg